Knitting and Reading Update

Yarn Along 5.14.14

I’m going to link up with Ginny this week at Small Things for this week’s Yarn Along!

~ Two of my favorite things are knitting and reading, and the evidence of this often shows up in my photographs.  I love seeing what other people are knitting and reading as well. So, what are you knitting or crocheting right now? What are you reading? Take a photo and share it either on your blog or on Flickr. Leave a link below to share your photo with the rest of us! ~

Knitting Update: On My Needles

1) Kingdom Gloves by Becky Herrick.  I’ve only made it through 2 fingers at the time I’m writing this.  Perhaps I’ll work a little on the next finger tonight. Or not.  My brain is tired.

knit gloves

2) Larger version of my Mystery Mitts  (new design I’m developing) Due to the nature of my wanting to reveal it when the pattern is ready, I’m not posting any pics!

And that’s ALL.

Which is rather weird for me.

I think I need to cast on a pair of socks just so I have another project in progress!

And since the Kingdom gloves have so much detailing–fancy cuffs, cables, fingers, cabled fingers!–a simple or easy sock pattern would be a nice go-to project for when my brain is too tired to concentrate. After a quick peek at my extensive queue, I’ve decided Cookie A.’s Monkey socks look like a great pattern. I’ve seen lots of other knitters have made pairs of Monkey socks over past few years, but for some unknown reason I haven’t.  Perhaps it’s time.

Reading Update:  The Many Books I’m Reading

As usual, I’m working on a BUNCH of different books.  {I’m only including the ones I’m reading on my own. If I added all the homeschool books I’m reading with/to my kids, you’d probably think I’m insane.}

Fiction:

Force Heretic Remnant cover  A Princess of Mars cover  Heiress cover  Death Comes to Pemberley cover

1) Star Wars The New Jedi Order: Force Heretic I: Remnant (A book I’ve been reading off and on for…ahem…2 or 3 years. Have finally put it where I can read it on a regular basis: the bathroom! Ha! Seriously though, I’ve gotten interested in the Star Wars series again.  I think I just needed a break from it for a while. I’m looking forward to the new movie, but knowing they’re basically scrapping the whole Star Wars Extended Universe makes me a little sad too.)

2) A Princess of Mars by Edgar Rice Burroughs (I’m reading this via my Goodreads app on my iPhone.  It’s nice to have a book to read as long as I’ve got my phone with me!)

3) Heiress by Susan May Warren (I had paused in my reading of this one for a while, but have picked it up my old Kindle and continued the story where I left off.)

4) Death Comes to Pemberley by P. D. James (I’m reading this one on my Kindle Fire. Right now it’s my go-to book if I want to read before bed.)

Non-Fiction:

Uncovering the Logic of English cover  Say Goodbye to Survival Mode cover  Praying for Boys cover  How am I smart cover

1) Uncovering the Logic of English by Denise Eide (An amazing look at the English language explaining the various phonograms and the LOGIC…yes, that’s right…of how and when to use them for reading and spelling. Having a child who is a struggling reader, I’ve pursued finding the “right” method to teach him so he best understands. Not only did I get Denise’s book at a homeschool conference we recently attended, but we bought the Foundations series to teach him with.  And although he still complains about how he “hates reading,” once we start a lesson he *almost* enjoys it! So far, I’m really happy with it and am recommending the program!

2) Say Good-bye to Survival Mode by Crystal Paine (I’ve just started this one, but am hoping to glean some tips for time management from her.)

3) Praying for Boys by Brooke McGlothlin (I’m also reading this one on my iPhone, but using the Kindle app.)

4) How Am I Smart:  A Parent’s Guide to Multiple Intelligences by Dr. Kathy Koch (I don’t actually have this book right now.  I started reading it a few weeks ago, but had to return it to the library before I finished it.  Have requested it again in hopes of being able to finish it! Hoping it comes in soon!)

Phew!  That’s quite a list!  It’s no wonder it sometimes takes me a long time to finish a book.  But I do find myself focusing on a single book when the story has drawn me in to the point that I don’t want to put it down!

Tell me:  what are you knitting and/or reading these days?

Let me know by leaving a comment below. Hearing from my readers puts a smile on my face! It really makes my day!

Thanks for stopping by the blog today!  Hope you enjoyed today’s post!

And as always, happy knitting (and reading)!

~Steph

12 thoughts on “Knitting and Reading Update

  1. You know I’m a one project/book girl. I can’t multi-task like that. If I start a second project, the first one gets up entirely neglected until the new one is done. Which really isn’t working on multiple projects in my opinion.

    I am currently working on another afghan. This is my own design, and I’m not willing to say much about it until it is done (and then I will only share if it is a success). I haven’t put much time into it lately. Spring has come and I less inspired to crochet or knit than I am in the fall and winter.

    As for reading, I have just started J.R.R. Tolkien Artist and Illustrator. It’s to big to take with me to the studio, so I think I need something else to read, but I know I won’t keep reading it if I get sucked into something else. So … We’ll see if I get a second book started or not. I have plenty to read in my iPad (which I have with me at the studio), but I just don’t enjoy it.

    I understand why people love their eBooks. I really do. But there is something about a physical book that I miss when trying to read on an electronic device. It lacks the physical sensation. No book smell. No visual of pages amassed on the left and waiting on the right to reveal your progress through the book. The weight of an eReader isn’t the same as you hold it. All these things are subconscious when I’m reading a physical book. I don’t rally think about them. But they become all to conscious for me when they are gone. But we both know I’m just a little bit odd, and that’s okay. 🙂

    Happy reading and knitting. I can’t wait to see your finished gloves. (Okay, I just typed “your” and got Cymru – I wonder how much past internet searches affect the predictive typing on my iPad…)

    Like

    • I typically prefer paper-bound books too. But the ease of having several ebooks on one device does make it a useful tool. Right now I’m kind of frustrated with not being able to “see” how many pages are left in the Pemberley book. I’m getting close–the Kindle says 89%, whatever that means. I can better estimate how long it will take me to finish if I’m reading a paper book. The majority of the ebooks I have were free. Most paper books are not as readily given away even to get reviews to help boost sales. So I probably read as many ebooks as I do paper ones.

      I’m curious now…and interested in seeing your new afghan once it’s done! Especially since it’s your own design! I hope it turns out the way you want! Designing can be fun, but it can also be frustrating. Hope you just have a lot of fun and little to no frustration!

      Like

  2. wow. your gloves look amazing……and that’s a lot of books. 🙂

    re: my socks….the top down version of the design has some extra just all knit stitches towards the sides to fudge the extra stitches…..which is seeming brilliant right about now. 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks, Katie! (I know…8 books is quite a lot even for me!)

      I wonder if there would be a way to do the same extra knit stitches on the sides while knitting the socks toe-up. Sounds like a bit of math and reverse engineering (so to speak) would be involved though. Maybe just knitting per the pattern would be easier!

      Like

  3. My dad is a MAJOR P.D. James fan. I think he’s read everything she’s ever written!

    I’m currently reading Freedom of Simplicity by Richard Foster (with my Bible study girls) and Rhinestone Jesus by Kristin Welch (FABULOUS book!). I’m a one-book-at-a-time girl, for sure. Always just one I’m reading for me, plus whatever we’re studying in our Bible study (which is almost always a book vs. a workbook or something like that). I don’t really count my Bible study book when I say I’m a one-book-girl, because we go through that so slow and it’s much more like studying than just reading for pleasure.

    I have a whole mess of orders piled up at the moment, so I’m trying to cross those off the list one at a time too!

    Like

    • I was just reading Kristin’s blog this morning. A really good post related to her book. I’m definitely going to have to read it too! Have fun making the stuff for your orders!!!

      Like

  4. I have never knitted gloves, yours look amazing. I might be a many projects person but I am a one book at a time girl. I would lose track of all the plots if I read so many at one time!

    Like

    • I think I’ve been a bit intimidated by the need to knit each individual finger. And the fingerless mitt look is one I love. It probably would have been smarter for me to do some plain gloves (no fancy cables) for my first pair, but I rarely do things the easy way. Lol! It’s really not that bad…just have to follow the pattern and make sure I understand it before I do each step. Like any other pattern. As for my multiple books, I’m not even sure how I manage to keep them all straight except I tend to read books that are from different genres. If I were to read two Jane Austen books at the same time, I’m not sure I could keep them straight.

      Like

  5. Wow, that is some intense multi-book reading! And such a gorgeous complex glove! I could get lost just gazing at the wonderful sea of cables. My projects are all simple ones as I haven’t the focus needed to tackle more complicated projects, so YOU are simply amazing in my eyes. 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks so much! I really enjoy the challenge of more complex projects. It amazes me that I can follow a pattern and end up with something that looks so amazing. Sadly, I haven’t had the mental focus to work on my glove since taking that photo. I really need another easy project to work on for when I’m too tired to think but still want to knit.

      Like

Leave a Reply

